I have reached the end of the internet?

My ECI831 adventure is coming  to a close. But this is not the end. I have not reached the end of  the internet as the  title of my blog may suggest.  Instead I have opened many more doors in the online world and learned new ways to collaborate with other individuals in the field of education. I would like to thank my professors Alec CourosKatia Hildebrandt and my fellow classmates for providing me with many learning opportunities that I can use in my personal/professional life.

I first heard of Alec Couros when he gave a presentation to hundreds of teachers in Regina at a teacher convention. I was very excited that we would actually be having a presenter from our home town! Needless to say I loved his talk and jumped at the chance to be able to take a class from him.

Technology is full of open opportunities.

Technology is full of open opportunities.Photo Credit: birdfarm via Compfight cc

Dr. Alec Couros

Dr. Alec Couros

Photo Credit: courosa via Compfight cc

Alec was the guest presenter this week and he again shared his knowledge of social media and the online world. My favorite part is that Alec is always positive and passionate  when he speaks about this subject. I am going to try and stay positive this blog post instead of writing about the potential of negative and dangerous aspects of living in a world that is always connected. There is fear that we should be aware of what others say about us and how we need to make sure we are perceived a specific way on the internet and social media. In  this blog post I want to highlight some of my learning throughout this semester. (Also stay tuned for my summary of learning project).

1. Before this class I have never been active on Twitter. My first and only Tweet was in 2009 and then my next Tweet wasn’t until this September of this year.

Look I successfully used a hashtag almost 5 years later!

Look! I successfully used a hashtag almost 5 years later!

Twitter has been a challenge for me as I tend to be “wordy”. But, my favorite aspect of Twitter was #saskedchat. Teachers in Saskatchewan would meet in the Twitter world on Thursdays at 8:00 pm and chat about a specific topic. My fellow classmate Kelly Christopherson is a moderator and I had many fantastic conversations with him and other teachers in Saskatchewan. Through this chat I  gained more followers on my Twitter account, and I feel like a rock star when someone retweets my thoughts or likes my Tweets.

2.You do not have to spend hours on the internet searching for what you are looking for. The best way to find something is being a part of an online community. I have had times where I would spend hours looking for that perfect lesson or that tool that would help me or my students. In the Google plus community my classmates would answer any questions that I would post, and they would also share some cool things that I could use. Thank you to Andrew Foreman who posted a vlog using Screencast-o-matic. I gave it a try by using it a few times on my blog.

Cheesy stock photo that shows professional working together. Alec made me laugh when he talked about the stock photos of eating salads!

Cheesy stock photo that shows professional working together. Alec made me laugh when he talked about the stock photos of eating salads!

I collaborate all the time with the people in the same building as me. This class has made it easier for me to collaborate with other professionals that I hope to continue to do after this class has finished.

 

3. The biggest lesson that learned in this class is that I can change my way of teaching. During this four month class there were many presentations that gave me ideas for lessons, projects and units that I can incorporate into my classroom. I have always had success when letting students use computers. Now I have more tools and knowledge with technology that I can try with my students. The one project that I am the most excited about is digital storytelling. There are so many different apps and programs out there that would help engage the reluctant writer. Andrea Needer just recently posted her summary of learning using the program Powtoon. The options are endless.

I could go on for a while about all of the things that I learned in this class, but you will need to check out my next posts on my summary of learning to get a more in depth look into what you can learn too! I highly recommend taking this class. You can ask all of my friends; they always here about me talking about this class and how it has been my favorite learning experience in my university career. (No I am not trying to get extra marks I am being very honest). I think what makes it so memorable is that I am taking away so many tools that I can use in my personal and professional world. I took learning into my own hands and hope that I can provide my students with the same experience!

What was your favorite part of ECI831? What is the most memorable project you have completed in your school/teaching career? I would love to hear everyone’s stories. I look forward to hearing my fellow classmates summary of learning this week!

About tarasmith311

Hello my name is Tara. I am an educator and a new mom to a beautiful girl Adalee. I am staying at home for the year to raise my little one but miss being in the classroom every day. I have been teaching middle year students for five years. I have decided to continue my education by taking my Masters in Educational Psychology through the University of Regina. My dream would to one day be a guidance counselor. In my free time I love to be around the pool. I have played competitive water polo for many years and have been coaching the sport for over ten years. I look forward to my journey as a new mom and life long learner.
This entry was posted in ECI 831 Reflections and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

