Football + Beer = Crochet?

I was getting very excited to watch some play off football on Sunday. I had all intentions to cheer my little heart out.  However, cheering in my jersey with family, friends, drinks and snacks didn’t seem to get my beloved Saskatchewan Rough Riders to play any better. Don’t get me wrong it was a very exciting game but I thought I would bring out my crocheting while I sat and watched the game. My plan was to start on some cute little baby booties for my daughter. During all the cheering I had what I thought was a strange request. My friend wanted me to crochet him a beer cozy for his beer Growler. If you don’t know what that is take a look at my pictures. I said to him “I don’t think there is a crochet pattern for a beer cozy.” He looked at me and had no idea what I was talking about. He just told me that I should make one for him. He said he would use this cozy to help him carry his growlers and prevent them from “clanking” together.

The beer Growler had a round bottom so I thought that since I had practiced crocheting in the round a few times that is how I would start.

Crocheting in the round will be the start for the beer Groweler

Crocheting in the round will be the start for the beer Growler

Glenn and I with the beer growler. Looks like my crocheting expertise are coming along.

Glenn and I with the beer growler. Looks like my crocheting expertise are coming along.

After I completed a round bottom I then continued to crochet the double stitch pattern all the way up until the project was complete.

Glenn is very satisfied with his new  Beer cozy. He wants me to crochet a matching one with a handle so he can carry his beer Growlers with ease.

Glenn is very satisfied with his new Beer cozy. He wants me to crochet a matching one with a handle so he can carry his beer Growlers with ease.

Although I am pretty impressed with my skill,  I am still not sure how I would create a handle and connect the two cozy’s together. I decided to post my question and problem to the Google plus community for crocheters I hope I hear a response soon! Maybe I will even try Twitter. Maybe someone can help me there! I had some success earlier with connecting with others. I asked for a pattern for baby boots and I had contact with someone through personal email.

Receiving help from an online community

Receiving help from an online community

Asking the Twitter world for assistance.

Asking the Twitter world for assistance.

Google community

 

I had a great idea that I should share this pattern with others so that maybe someone out there will want to have their very own Beer cozy for their Growler.

My weekly Vlog of my experience. Please stay tuned for next weeks entry when I summarize my learning. Has anyone else decided to take up some crocheting? I would love to give some lessons!

About tarasmith311

Hello my name is Tara. I am an educator and a new mom to a beautiful girl Adalee. I am staying at home for the year to raise my little one but miss being in the classroom every day. I have been teaching middle year students for five years. I have decided to continue my education by taking my Masters in Educational Psychology through the University of Regina. My dream would to one day be a guidance counselor. In my free time I love to be around the pool. I have played competitive water polo for many years and have been coaching the sport for over ten years. I look forward to my journey as a new mom and life long learner.
This entry was posted in My Digital Project Option B and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

