Single and Double Crochet; Oh My!

A friend has asked me to create her some boot cuffs to keep her legs nice, warm and stylish for the fall/winter season. I choose a style and watched a video that was recommended for beginners. The pattern required using the double and single stitch crochet. I am finding that it is not that hard at all to mix up the stitches. I wish I did a little bit more research on looking at different patterns to get a different look. Although I am happy with all the progress I am making and I do feel that I am getting better and better each time, I think I could of tried a more challenging pattern to get the desired look I was hoping for. Chalyn I hope you find use to these creations and wear them!

Here is my attempt.

Boot cuff being modeled with a pear of boots

Boot cuff being modeled with a pear of boots


For the upcoming week I think I will try to make some cute baby boots. My daughter received a gift from her Nan, cute crochet sandals. I looked at them and thought “I can maybe make this”. I have also joined a Google Plus Crochet community community that is dedicated to crocheting. It has open my world to so many options in creating new projects! This is making it hard to choose what to create next!
Baby Crochet Sandals

Baby Crochet Sandals

About tarasmith311

Hello my name is Tara. I am an educator and a new mom to a beautiful girl Adalee. I am staying at home for the year to raise my little one but miss being in the classroom every day. I have been teaching middle year students for five years. I have decided to continue my education by taking my Masters in Educational Psychology through the University of Regina. My dream would to one day be a guidance counselor. In my free time I love to be around the pool. I have played competitive water polo for many years and have been coaching the sport for over ten years. I look forward to my journey as a new mom and life long learner.
This entry was posted in My Digital Project Option B and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Single and Double Crochet; Oh My!

  1. kennanelson says:

    This is fantastic 🙂 You certainly have come quite a way. Do you think you will continue this? I enjoy knitting as a winter activity… it kind of gets lost for me in the summer (I want to be outside). Thanks for posting. Reminds me of my own project I want to get on the way!

    Like

  2. tarasmith311 says:

    I have the year off from work staying home with my little one and I would like to keep doing this project as time allows. I have been able to multi task by crocheting and watching a movie at the same time! So that is when I will try to keep at all my projects! I would love to make Christmas gifts for everyone this year as well.

    Like

  3. I agree you have come a long way. I have student who is working on learning to crochet, so I sent her a link to your blog for ideas. How did you find the videos on youtube to learn from, would you suggest she tries from someone or videos? What was easier?

    Like

  4. tarasmith311 says:

    Learning from videos is how I started. However the technique of crocheting can’t really be learned through a video. I had hands on help for this. I also looked at videos on common mistakes and how to fix them. Crocheting is all in how you hold the yarn and hook. I would be willing to help this student! I could do a video for her or even skype! I would love to do that. I am finding that teaching others is actually helping me become better at crochet.

    Like

Leave a Reply

