Blog page needs a Face lift!

Whoa, I had a reality check last week! Just as I thought I was on the right track with my digital project and blogging I realized that it needs some work. Don’t get me wrong I don’t mind putting in some hard solid work I am just adjusting to my new mom life schedule. I am so use to having huge chunks of time to finish assignments. As for ECI 831 I have not had the time to play around with formatting and be happy with my end results of my blog. This new mom is only able to sit down for short periods of time and quickly get through assignments for the week before baby wakes up hungry or wanting to play. All of you parents out there have any advice for this new mom? How can I use my time wisely?

Stressed out!

Stressed out!

Photo Credit: banspy via Compfight cc

Thank goodness for grandmas. My daughter will get some quality time in with her grandma this week while I work on updating my blog and digital project. I recently received great advice and was asked questions to help make my blog more organized and easy to navigate. I also have taken to the Google plus community for support. I read through the discussion and find that others are having similar struggles. Here is a vlog that I created to help show you my progress on my blog. The video is of my blog currently and later this week I hope to show the new and improved version.

Thank you Andrew Foreman for the idea about using a fantastic tool Screencast-O-Matic. This tool is free to use and very easy to navigate. I think this would be an excellent tool for the classroom! Students could create their own Screencasts and show a progress on an assignment or a teacher can give instructions through a screencast and students could access it at home this would allow them to remember what they need to do to complete their homework.

Now that everyone has an idea of where I am coming from I hope to show improvements after I give this blog a Face lift!

Some questions that I ask myself as I work through this journey:
1. What type of blogs do I like to read/visit?
2. What do I want my readers to know about me?
3.How can I make this blog beneficial for my job as a teacher and as a learner?

I enjoy reading a blog that has humor, pictures, easy to read (not to many words)and is something that I can relate to. I found this great article 26 Tips for Writing Great Blog Posts and now have a better idea of how I want my blog to look like and sound like. A class mate of mine Clayton Murray has also given his blog a little bit of a clean up, check it out.

My goals for this week are
1.Organize posts
2.Create more categories and tags
3.Re visit old posts
4.Sight pictures I have used
5.Come up with catchy titles for my entries
6.More Crocheting!
7.Connect with others in this class and in the digital world

Sounds like a lot of work but I am determined. I leave you with this question. What motivates you to get a list of things done? Are you like me and need to create lists to stay organized? Any type of support this week would be much appreciated.

About tarasmith311

Hello my name is Tara. I am an educator and a new mom to a beautiful girl Adalee. I am staying at home for the year to raise my little one but miss being in the classroom every day. I have been teaching middle year students for five years. I have decided to continue my education by taking my Masters in Educational Psychology through the University of Regina. My dream would to one day be a guidance counselor. In my free time I love to be around the pool. I have played competitive water polo for many years and have been coaching the sport for over ten years. I look forward to my journey as a new mom and life long learner.
This entry was posted in ECI 831 Reflections and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Blog page needs a Face lift!

  1. barber3c says:

    I am in the same boat! After last week’s Q and A session I got overwhelmed and felt like I was falling behind and not doing much right. I put in a solid few hours this weekend organizing my blog page into categories and writing blogs with properly cited pictures and pingbacks. Next step is to revamp the appearance of my blog and make it more visually engaging for visitors. I feel overwhelmed and I’m not a new mom! Good for you and congrats on the new addition to your family. You’re doing great!!

    Like

  2. tarasmith311 says:

    Thanks for the encouragement! I just checked out your blog and really like your format! I am going to work on mine and maybe as I go through it I will have some questions for you!

    Like

  3. Pingback: My Blog Page received a makeover! | Tara Smith's Journey Through Technology and Online Communities

Leave a Reply

