Blog All About It!

Technology is an amazing thing! On Tuesday our class ECI831 listened to guest speaker through Blackboard, Sue Waters. She spoke to us all the way from Australia, while I sat in the comfort of my own home in Regina Saskatchewan. It was almost like she was talking from the future she was in October and we were still in September! I am still amazed by the many different ways that we are so lucky to learn from one another and be connected with educators from around the world.

Sue made some comments that I could relate with right away. She was introduced to blogs in 2006 and she at that time thought that blogs were ridiculous and couldn’t understand why people use them. I am still struggling with this concept. Who has the time to blog? Who has the time to read others thoughts? I have been recently convinced that blogging is a huge thing and a way to connect with others. It was recently during my pregnancy and when I became a first time mother that I started to read other peoples blog.I have been able to relate to other mothers out there through their thoughts and experiences they share on their blogs. I am very grateful that mothers have taken the time to give advice and ask questions. It has helped me through this life changing experience. Sue had one great quote that has stuck with me. If we blog it will “give us voice and it reaches other people.” Maybe there are people out there reading my blog and learning from me.

Blogging!

Blogging!


Photo Credit: Kristina B via Compfight cc

During the presentation Sue spoke about the many different types of blogs that could be used in the classroom with students. She gave examples of having a blog as a school or teacher based webpage. Some questions that fellow classmates asked and I thought about was the safety and privacy of having a blog with young students. There were many suggestions that could be used and I felt like the best way was to get permission from parents. Even though I am not currently teaching in the class room I tried to think of different ways that a student blog could be used. I would love to use this form of technology for journals and have students use blogs in the classroom and at home! I can’t wait to return to the classroom and set up a classroom blog.

Sue also mentioned that she struggles with language and writing. I struggle with this too, but through this class it has forced me to just let go and write! The blog is for others to read and to learn from me. I started creating my Digital project and posted it to my blog as well. I have decided to also do the option of video blogging my thoughts. I sometimes would rather listen than read, so I thought others would appreciate the same thing.

As the presentation was ending Sue made the comment that we need to read other peoples blog and comment on what they have shared; this is what really connects us to others through the online world. I am guilty of reading everyone thoughts but not commenting on what I agree with or even question what others have to say. My goal is to actively do more reading and commenting on my classmates blogs! Maybe even find more blogs to learn from. I hope to later post some blogs that I found interesting and educational. What is your favorite Blog to follow?

About tarasmith311

Hello my name is Tara. I am an educator and a new mom to a beautiful girl Adalee. I am staying at home for the year to raise my little one but miss being in the classroom every day. I have been teaching middle year students for five years. I have decided to continue my education by taking my Masters in Educational Psychology through the University of Regina. My dream would to one day be a guidance counselor. In my free time I love to be around the pool. I have played competitive water polo for many years and have been coaching the sport for over ten years. I look forward to my journey as a new mom and life long learner.
This entry was posted in ECI 831 Reflections and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Blog All About It!

  1. Sue Waters says:

    Hi Tara,

    Hope the accent wasn’t too hard to understand?

    The best part of voice is making a difference in other people’s life without not necessarily always being aware of the impact. Like those other mothers that helped you.

    Glad that sharing my struggles with language and writing helped! Video is a good option. One aspect to consider with video is generally shorter is sweeter. There used to be similar thoughts on length of blog post however they’ve now found short and long posts all do well and it gets back to the content. The ideal video length is about 4-5 minutes maximum.

    Commenting is the harder aspect of blogging but it is an important part of the learning process because you reflect as much, or if not more, when you submit a comment on someone’s post as you do when you publish a post.

    Sue @suewaters

    Like

  2. For someone that struggles with language and writing, you’re doing well! Sometimes it’s best just to write … get your thoughts out. And, that’s what’s often really quite amazing about blogging.

    Like

  3. I just noticed that you have comment moderation on … I would suggest going into the General setting menu and loosening up the restrictions. Moderated commenting is not ideal for those that want to comment on your blog and it really restricts the ability to have a conversation. Let us know if you need help with this.

    Like

  4. tarasmith311 says:

    Thanks for the advice! I am finding it easy to write and reflect in the blogging world. The best part is getting feedback and comments almost instantly, which makes the writing easier! Hope I fixed my settings on the commenting section.

    Like

  5. tarasmith311 says:

    @suewaters Thanks so much for the comments on my blog as well! I am getting advice from around the world! I agree that when you write down what you feel it almost makes you reflect more. Thank you so much for taking the time to read my entry and making those comments. Makes me feel that what I have to say is reaching others, that is a pretty cool feeling. I can’t wait to share my experience with students.

    Like

  6. Great post Tara. The beginning of my post and yours sound so similar. The world of online ed is amazing! I love reading your posts and viewing your crochet videos. Can’t wait to see more of your progress and what you create!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. tarasmith311 says:

    Thanks for the comments Lisa! I really like your blog and how it is set up as well. Maybe I can start a business with my blogging and crochet work!

    Like

Leave a Reply

