Technology won’t go away. Let’s embrace it.

When listening to our guest speaker Rick Schwier, he had so much enthusiasm towards technology and his job! I mean that man is retired and he says now that he does his job as a “hobby” good for him!

I have to admit that I know very little about the history of technology and scholars who have contributed to this world. Basically I just use technology without ever thinking about who is the master mind behind everything. I take things for granted and just use these tools to help with my everyday life.

The other day I helped my mom upgrade to a Smart phone. The first thing she asked was “Where is the instructions?”. I told her there isn’t paper copies of how to work your phone, you need to play around with it or go on the internet to figure it out. She then replied “How do I use the internet?” This little situation made me think of Rick’s first question during his presentation. What is your first memory of technology? I replied with sitting in a computer lab in grade 8 and making sure our fingers were on home row. I asked my mom this question and she said ” In my days we didn’t have computers and we got by just fine!” I then thought about my 4 month old daughter, what will her first memory of technology be? She has so many options around her. Just like I am doing with my mom I am sure she will be teaching me how to use something new and I will say the same thing that my mom did that will totally age me.

My mom's memory of a phone. I used this type of phone to play house!

My mom’s memory of a phone. I used this type of phone to play house!

Photo Credit: Vincent_AF via Compfight cc

The biggest thought that I took away from the presentation is that I should be thinking about where technology has started and where it is going. Our world is at our finger tips and it important to learn from our past and be grateful for what we have today.

My baby will not know a world without technology.

My baby will not know a world without technology.

Photo Credit: rAmmoRRison via Compfight cc

What is your first memory of technology? What do you think the next big invention in our technology world will be?

About tarasmith311

Hello my name is Tara. I am an educator and a new mom to a beautiful girl Adalee. I am staying at home for the year to raise my little one but miss being in the classroom every day. I have been teaching middle year students for five years. I have decided to continue my education by taking my Masters in Educational Psychology through the University of Regina. My dream would to one day be a guidance counselor. In my free time I love to be around the pool. I have played competitive water polo for many years and have been coaching the sport for over ten years. I look forward to my journey as a new mom and life long learner.
This entry was posted in ECI 831 Reflections and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Technology won’t go away. Let’s embrace it.

  1. mybrainstorm says:

    ha! I know my kids will be dragging me into the next technologies when they get older. Hopefully I will be less fearful than my mom;)!
    I think the biggest take-away from Rick’s chat was that technology doesn’t just help with current tasks it changes them, creates new ones and changes the way we think.
    Thanks for the post!

    Like

Leave a Reply

