Is Social Media part of the job now?

As I dig deeper this week into new forms of social media I am becoming more comfortable with navigating each component. I am still trying to get the hang of Twitter but I do enjoy finding other educators and taking a look into their classroom and ideas. Since I am on maternity leave it has given me the opportunity to stay connected with the division, school, teachers, and even the students! Feels like I am still in the loop.

On Sunday night I attend Russell Peters and he had a very good point about social media that is making me ask the question to many individuals(I even Tweeted about it!).

Russell Peters. Stand up Canadian Comedian.

Russell Peters. Stand up Canadian Comedian.

Photo Credit: Anirudh Koul via Compfight cc

 Russell Peters stated that he just can’t be a comedian any more he has to use Twitter and other forms to communicate to his fans; it’s now part of his job. He said that so many people would say nasty mean things to him like his nose was to big but as someone in the public eye he can’t say anything back or he is the one being blasted by the public. Made me giggle because how true is that! Ever watch Celebrities read mean Tweets? How do we stop our students from doing the same? I mean it may be funny to watch but this is a form of bullying and discrimination.

Cyber Bullying it is happening far to much.

Cyber Bullying it is happening far to much.

Photo Credit: Chesi – Fotos CC via Compfight cc

Do you ever come across situations and drama in the classroom that has all started with someone saying something on the internet? How do we as educators monitor this issue? I mean we all say it is out of our hands but really there must be something that we can do. Questions to Ponder!

 

About tarasmith311

Hello my name is Tara. I am an educator and a new mom to a beautiful girl Adalee. I am staying at home for the year to raise my little one but miss being in the classroom every day. I have been teaching middle year students for five years. I have decided to continue my education by taking my Masters in Educational Psychology through the University of Regina. My dream would to one day be a guidance counselor. In my free time I love to be around the pool. I have played competitive water polo for many years and have been coaching the sport for over ten years. I look forward to my journey as a new mom and life long learner.
This entry was posted in ECI 831 Reflections and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

